Rocks In The Attic #590: Abba – ‘Super Trouper’ (1980)

RITA#590.jpgWhen I inherited my parent’s record collection, I picked up a few gems from my Dad – mainly classic rock and a little bit of soul and R&B – but from my Mum I got Andrew Lloyd Webber’s Phantom Of The Opera soundtrack plus her Abba collection.

My Mum had studio albums four, five and six (Arrival, ABBA: The Album and Voulez Vous) from when they were at the peak of their powers, plus a couple of compilations. She must have stopped buying them after Voulez Vous, as this record – Super Trouper, album number seven – and their eighth and final record, The Visitors, never entered our house.

I’ve since found albums number one (Ring Ring) and three (Abba), so just a few more and then the collection will be complete.

The one thing I really like about the Super Trouper album is the locked run-out groove at the end of the record. At the close of the final song, a live rendition of The Way Old Friends Do from a performance at London’s Wembley Arena, the audience applauds and cheers, and then the groove locks out so that applause never ends. It’s a nice little trick; just a shame that they didn’t use this on their very final studio record due to the subtext this would bring.

Hit: The Winner Takes It All

Hidden Gem: On And On And On

Leave a Reply

