Rocks In The Attic #550: White Zombie – ‘Astro-Creep 2000 – Songs Of Love, Destruction And Other Synthetic Delusions Of The Electric Head’ (1995)

rita550In 1995, I used to spend most of my time in the common room at college, listening to rock and metal, and reading magazines like Kerrang! and Metal Hammer. I’d attend lessons from time to time, but the highlight of my life at this point was sitting in the common room, my feet up, controlling the stereo, and sneering at anybody brave enough to try and put any Oasis on. Life goals!

We’d also shoot home movies during our free periods, soundtracked by the likes of White Zombie, and characterised by the usual kind of hi-jinks that sixteen year olds get up to. These Not So Vulgar Videos, as we titled them, are a great time capsule of my youth although I’m naturally ashamed at some of the content.

I don’t think I’d heard Astro Creep 2000 since going to University in 1996, and it being reissued on vinyl twenty years later. My musical tastes developed beyond metal rather quickly by the time I left college, and so I looked back on this album as a product of my naive adolescence.

Listening now, it’s interesting just how enjoyable the record is. I could do without some of Rob Zombie’s ‘Morris Dancing’ vocal rhythms – something that System Of A Down stole and made a career out of – but the songwriting, playing and production on this record is awesome. Of particular interest to me are the film dialogue samples employed throughout – from the likes of Dawn Of The Dead, The Omega Man, Shaft and The Haunting. No wonder I liked this sort of thing when I was sixteen.

Hit: More Human Than Human

Hidden Gem: Electric Head Pt. 1 (The Agony)

Leave a Reply

