Rocks In The Attic #541: The Mothers – ‘Filmore East, June 1971’ (1971)

rita541If there’s one musical artist I think I’ll never understand, it’s Frank Zappa. It isn’t through lack of trying either. Several people have tried to turn me onto him, and it just hasn’t happened. Not yet, anyway. Interestingly, it’s always been musicians who have passed on their recommendations.

I was first handed a copy of Joe’s Garage, but it was just too ‘out there’ for me to comprehend next to my diet of ‘70s classic rock and ‘90s alternative rock. Too comedic, and I don’t think I was in on the joke. I was then handed a live DVD of him playing the Allman Brothers’ Whipping Post, I think from just before he died, and it sounded too much like a headache for me to enjoy.

I picked this record up recently for $5, and it’s instantly more accessible than anything else I’ve heard before from him. Perhaps I’m a fan of earlier Zappa and the Mothers, and I just didn’t know it…

Hit: Happy Together

Hidden Gem: Little House I Used To Live In

2 thoughts on “Rocks In The Attic #541: The Mothers – ‘Filmore East, June 1971’ (1971)

Leave a Reply

