Rocks In The Attic #501: Band Of Horses – ‘Everything All The Time’ (2006)

RITA#501A few years ago, with the help of a friend at work, I pulled my head out of the sand long enough to hear a few new(ish) bands. I do this every now and then; something to put into my musical diet other than Creedence and Steely Dan. I used to do it all the time, almost exclusively. Back then I would listen to 60% – 80% contemporary music. Now it’s less than 2%. I just got tired of investing too much time in sub-par albums.

This is one of the bands that I liked the sound of, thanks to my friend Justin introducing me to them. It’s the debut record by Seattle indie rockers Band Of Horses, released on Sub Pop (not sub-par) in 2006.

Band Of Horses aren’t the kind of band I would listen to. They’re a little bit too far into the jangly guitar spectrum of bands for my liking, and they sound like the kind of band that would feature prominently in a Zach Braff film.

Don’t get me wrong, I like Zach Braff films, except the cloying sentimental bits. Garden State was fantastic though, and I even like its soundtrack, but I just don’t want to be the type of person who listens to those kinds of bands all the time.

This is a lovely album though. It’s a little underproduced – mainly because the recording sounds live, with minimal overdubs – so there’s nothing fancy about it. It’s a very lush-sounding record, but because there isn’t anything featured except vocals, guitars, bass and drums, all of the songs tend to slide into one another, and apart from the melodies there isn’t much to tell one song from the next.

Hit: The Funeral

Hidden Gem: The First Song

Leave a Reply

