Rocks In The Attic #486: Various Artists – ‘There’s Music In The Air! Vol. 2’ (1976)

RITA#486Qantastic! Fifty cents for this little time capsule, and the record looks unplayed – how could I turn down such a deal?

Quite why this record opens with a boozy rendition of The Stripper is anybody’s guess. Why would you want to listen to that on a commercial airplane? I’d like to think it’s just a random song choice – the rest of the record seems to be just as random – but the cynic in me thinks it might have something to do with being in a captive environment where beautiful women wait on your every need. I’m guessing a man chose the playlist?

Another weird thing is that the third track on the record is Stranger On The Shore, credited to ‘Mr Acker Bilk’, presumably to prevent you from getting it mixed up with the version recorded by ‘Mrs. Acker Bilk’.

The record serves as a marketing tool, to advertise the airline’s futuristic entertainment offerings; alongside photos of people trying on earphones for what looks like the first time ever, the liner notes proudly point out that ‘On the mighty Qantas 747B you have a choice of seven channels of sound.’ Seven! How times have changed.

I suffer a little from a fear of flying. I’ve always been a bit of a nervous flyer, but as long as there’s no turbulence I’m usually fine. In fact I end up really enjoying it. I’ll be flying back from Sydney later today (Air New Zealand-tastic!), after a long weekend.

The last time I flew to Sydney, the plane trip in both directions was one of my highlights (and that’s not to say I didn’t have a good time in Sydney itself – I just don’t fly very often so I end up enjoying it when I do). I watched the Brian Wilson biopic Love And Mercy on the way out, and Guy Ritchie’s harmless but enjoyable Man From U.N.C.L.E., with a couple of beers on the way back.

There was never any stripping by the air stewardesses though; perhaps you only get that on Qantas?

Hit: Stranger On The Shore

Hidden Gem: Wheels, Cha Cha

Leave a Reply

