Rocks In The Attic #435: Freddie King – ‘Getting Ready…’ (1971)

RITA#435A few weekends ago it was the bi-annual record collector’s fair in Auckland. I really look forward to these events, held six months apart in March and October – they’re like Christmas Day for me, only without the turkey, Queen’s speech or unwanted socks and jumpers as gifts. In fact, they’re probably my favourite days of the year – one just as summer is about to start and one just as summer is about to finish.

I always go along with a budget in mind – $100 or so – but I’ll take more with me as a safety net. You never know if you’ll come across something autographed by a band you love when you’ve only got $5 left in your pocket. That would be a horrible situation to be in. I’d have to grab it and do a runner.

This year, I very quickly spent $100 – and just kept on going. I usually pick up albums for around $5 each, and usually end up spending so much just to capitalise on the opportunity – knowing that the same albums would cost me upwards of $15 or $20 each at Real Groovy in the same condition. I ended up spending upwards of $200 – budget well and truly blown. But I averaged around $6 per record – for thirty eight records in total, so I came home well and truly happy.

The thing that made me the happiest was my final purchase. I knew I had exceeded the $200 mark, so I was just about to leave when I had a look at just one more stall (don’t addicts always talk about ‘just having one more’?).

There it was – a nice copy of Freddie King’s Getting Ready… from 1971, an album I had been looking for for quite some time. Last year, while doing some research for my failed / unwanted 33 1/3 book submission, I came across an old interview with Aerosmith’s Joe Perry. He mentioned that in preparing to write and record their 1989 album Pump, he had been listening to a lot of blues records from his youth – one of which, Freddie King’s Going Down had really reminded him of the music that used to get him up in the morning, before he replaced music with drugs.

I found the album digitally easy enough, but a vinyl copy remained elusive. Until I saw it at the fair. My heart stopped for a moment when I first saw it, but then I looked at the price. A full $15. This was not only more than I had paid for everything else in my bag at that point, but it completely made a joke of the $100 budget I had set myself. Fuck it, I thought. I had been looking for the record so long, what difference does another $15 make when I’ve already gone 100% over my budget.

I’m so glad I have this in my collection. Joe’s right too – Going Down is one of the most upbeat blues stompers you’re likely ever to hear. It could almost be the rootsy precursor to Supergrass’ Alright – sunny, effervescent, truly uplifting blues.

Hit: Going Down

Hidden Gem: Walking By Myself

2 thoughts on “Rocks In The Attic #435: Freddie King – ‘Getting Ready…’ (1971)

Leave a Reply

