Rocks In The Attic #421: Supertramp – ‘Breakfast In America’ (1979)

RITA#421For some reason it took me a really long time to hunt down a clean second-hand copy of this record. I’d come across copies of it in the sale racks at Real Groovy all the time, but when I looked at the disc they always looked like somebody had actually eaten their breakfast off the top of them.

I remember reading that at one time it was probably the most ubiquitous record out there, because hi-fi shops were in the habit of giving the album away with every stereo system they sold. Maybe the record was a little too middle of the road for most people, and they banished it to an area where it would pick up dust before they found it twenty years later and sold it off in a bulk lot.

I finally found a nice copy one day, and for all its cheesiness, I love it. I love the harmonies. I love the balance between melancholia and bright cheery sunshine. I love the big fat lady serving breakfast on the cover. I love the reproduction of Manhattan done in breakfast-related cutlery and tableware. It makes me want to go to Denny’s. It makes me want to order a full breakfast from a big fat lady waitress in a yellow uniform.

Hit: Breakfast In America

Hidden Gem: Gone Hollywood

One thought on “Rocks In The Attic #421: Supertramp – ‘Breakfast In America’ (1979)

Leave a Reply

