Rocks In The Attic #413: Cilla Black – ‘The Best Of Cilla Black’ (1968)

RITA#413Dear old Cilla died last week – a week that also cost us my favourite wrestler Rowdy Roddy Piper, as well as George ‘Arthur Daley’ Cole from the TV show Minder. They say that things like this always come in threes.

As I get older, it seems to affect me more when celebrities die. It’s like something from my childhood dying. I can’t say I was ever a big fan of Cilla when I was growing up though. She seemed to embody trash television – either on Surprise Surprise or hosting the ever-woeful Blind Date. Her days as a number one solo artist from Brian Epstein’s stable, rubbing shoulders with the likes of Lennon and McCartney were a thing of the past by then. Her lot in life really was entertaining prime time audiences on Saturday and Sunday nights.

When I was growing up I remember that whenever he saw her on TV my Dad used to say that Cilla got to where she is with a mattress strapped to her back. I’m not entirely sure I agree with that. I mean, it’s clear to see that she’s talented, with a soaring singing voice, so she had no reason to sleep her way to the top. And if you’re talking about the first person to give her a break, I’m not sure Brian Epstein would even know what to do with her vagina.

There are four Lennon and McCartney songs on this album, three of which were never recorded by the Beatles. That makes this essential listening for any fan of the fab four.

Hit: Alfie

Hidden Gem: Sing A Rainbow

Leave a Reply

