Rocks In The Attic #396: Stone Temple Pilots – ‘No. 4’ (1999)

RITA#396By the time this record came out in 1999, I had moved on. My tastes had developed at University, to the extent that I no longer hung everything on what was coming out of the Grunge / Alternative Rock scene in America. In fact, judging on what I’ve heard about this album’s complete lack of support and promotion, I wouldn’t have heard it at the time anyway, unless I specifically sought it out.

For that very reason, it’s the STP album I know the least. Or, considering that there are later albums, this is where my knowledge of their material stops. I wouldn’t have heard this until the early 2000s when I bought an iPod, and only then would I have given it a cursory listen to. It’s very hard to build up some passion for an album you know nothing about, and have no reason to like in the first place – even when the band / record company make no effort with the name of the album or the cover.

I don’t even like to think about Scott Weiland and his selfish addictions. It’s embarrassing. He can’t even get it together to sing a passable version of Vasoline with his new band. What a waste of a great talent. What a waste of a great band. I just feel sorry for the DeLeo brothers and Eric Kretz.

Hit: Down

Hidden Gem: Atlanta

One thought on “Rocks In The Attic #396: Stone Temple Pilots – ‘No. 4’ (1999)

  1. Pingback: Rocks In The Attic #444: Stone Temple Pilots – ‘Shangri-La Dee Da’ (2001) | Vinyl Stylus

Leave a Reply

