Rocks In The Attic #369: Ry Cooder – ‘Bop Till You Drop’ (1979)

RITA#369There are some real gaps in my record collection, which I’m not really proud of. Ry Cooder is one such gap. I’ve seen Buena Vista Social Club, where Cooder is treated as a slide-guitar playing God, but before that I’d never listened to any of his albums and only heard of him by name. I picked this up at the Auckland vinyl fair late last year and I love it. I didn’t know what to expect – something a bit less mainstream sounding, I guess, to account for that fact that he’d flown under my radar for so long; but it sounds like it belongs on the charts, alongside the AOR likes of Fleetwood Mac and the Eagles.

Wikipedia tells me that this is the first major label pop record to be recorded digitally. Wow – 1979 – I didn’t even think the word ‘digital’ was even uttered before the 1980s.

Note to self – buy more Ry Cooder.

Hit: Little Sister

Hidden Gem: I Think It’s Going To Work Out Fine

3 thoughts on “Rocks In The Attic #369: Ry Cooder – ‘Bop Till You Drop’ (1979)

Leave a Reply

