Rocks In The Attic #364: The Soup Dragons – ‘Lovegod’ (1990)

RITA#364The Soup Dragons’ cover of I’m Free reminds me of secondary school, of 5th form block, of dark blue school uniform sweatshirts, of sitting next to Wes Ellison in registration and talking about last night’s episode of The Mary Whitehouse Experience, Red Dwarf or Newman & Baddiel.

Maybe it was the age I was when this came out – eleven going on twelve – but I didn’t see 1990 as the optimist start to a bright new decade. I had other things to think about around then. For one, I was deeply interested in the “sport” of WWF wrestling. Any other free time was taken up watching John Carpenter films or searching through SKY TV to discover shiny, new American things like The Simpsons. I definitely had no time to listen to music. Yet.

In retrospect, I’m glad I didn’t get into music earlier than I did. If I had done, I would have probably been a fan of music like this – mediocre Madchester-era indie. It would have meant joining an already existing bandwagon, rather than developing my own taste (for something that nobody else was interested in).

Hit: I’m Free

Hidden Gem: Drive The Pain

4 thoughts on “Rocks In The Attic #364: The Soup Dragons – ‘Lovegod’ (1990)

  1. Matthew Gibson

    I probably haven’t listened to this since 1990 myself, it might even be that I’m Free is the only song I’ve heard from it. At least, even if I was a major rider on the madchester bandwagon, I got by perfectly fine without the Soup Dragons. They were better as a jangly/punky mid-80s indie band. Although I’m basing that on one song that was on the NME C86 compilation: Pleasantly Surprised.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

