Rocks In The Attic #356: S’Express – ‘Original Soundtrack’ (1989)

RITA#356“Drop that ghetto blaster!” Not sure how I managed to acquire this record, but it’s a guilty pleasure nevertheless. I don’t know what it is about early sampling, but it feels right – maybe because you can hear them stop and start. Obviously everything is sampled these days in electronic music, but you can’t hear the joins any more. Listening to S’Express is like watching Ray Harryhausen’s stop-motion effects compared to the super-slick digital effects of today’s blockbusters.

I didn’t like this type of music when it came out – I was into Michael Jackson, Huey Lewis & The News, and, specifically in 1989, Prince’s Batman soundtrack. I turned 11 in 1989, and so I missed the boat on this and the acid house movement in Manchester. Damn, so close to a major musical breeding ground and I missed out on it by 5 or 6 years.

That might have been a blessing in disguise. By the time I was heavily into music – at the expense of everything else – the focus of the world of music was no longer on Manchester, but Seattle. All things considered, I’m glad I grew up with a guitar around my neck than a pair of headphones.

Hit: Theme From S’Express

Hidden Gem: Hey Music Lover

Leave a Reply

