Rocks In The Attic #283: Jasper Carrott – ‘Jasper Carrott Rabbitts On And On And On’ (1975)

RITA#283I used to like watching Jasper Carrott on TV when I was growing up. He’s hardly the most cutting-edge comedian around, but I guess that’s why he was so popular in the ‘70s and ‘80s – his material was generally safe for all ages.

At some point in the last ten years or so, I caught one of his programmes on the BBC and I couldn’t believe how safe and – worst of all – broad his material was. I can remember him being much funnier back in the day, or is that simply a case of relativity? When I was growing up, my only exposure to comedy was on TV – and compared to some of the performers on there, Carrott was doing his own thing. He spoke in a regional accent – Solihull brummie – and dealt almost exclusively in observational comedy. I can imagine how refreshing it would have been in the UK when Billy Connolly and Jasper Carrott turned up, breathing fresh air into a stale comedy circuit.

Throughout my teens I was exposed to cutting-edge comedians of the early ‘90s – mainly British, but then Americans like Bill Hicks, Sam Kinison and Dennis Leary – and suddenly Jasper Carrott didn’t seem as funny anymore.

Hit: Magic Roundabout

Hidden Gem: Tribute To Eric Idle My Idol

One thought on “Rocks In The Attic #283: Jasper Carrott – ‘Jasper Carrott Rabbitts On And On And On’ (1975)

  1. Pingback: Rocks In The Attic #511: Jasper Carrott – ‘The Stun – Carrott Tells All’ (1983) | Vinyl Stylus

Leave a Reply

