Rocks In The Attic #211: Bob Dylan – ‘John Wesley Harding’ (1967)

RITA#211This is fast becoming my second favourite Bob Dylan album – after 1963’s The Freewheelin’ Bob Dylan. I’m not usually the sort of listener who would favour acoustic guitar over electric, but I think Dylan sounds better here, stepping away from the heady mix of the his last couple of electric albums.

John Wesley Harding is very laid back, with a similar minimalist country feel that Neil Young would later employ on Harvest, and I think that’s what I like best about it.  It’s a very nice album just to listen to, without having to think about deciphering his lyrics. He sounds much more comfortable here, stepping out of the spotlight and away from his duties as the voice of a generation.

George Harrison must have been a fan of side-two opener Dear Landlord – his Old Brown Shoe (b-side to The Ballad Of John And Yoko) borrows more than a little of the progression in Dylan’s song.

Hit: I’ll Be Your Baby Tonight

Hidden Gem: I Dreamed I Saw St. Augustine

2 thoughts on “Rocks In The Attic #211: Bob Dylan – ‘John Wesley Harding’ (1967)

Leave a Reply

