Rocks In The Attic #206: Manic Street Preachers – ‘Gold Against The Soul’ (1993)

RITA#206The first Manics song I ever heard was From Despair To Where, used to great effect in the underrated BBC sitcom Game On. Despite that, the band stayed off my radar until I discovered The Holy Bible and worked my way backwards to this album, and then their debut Generation Terrorists.

Gold Against The Soul was a mis-step, I believe, for a band that showed so much promise with their first album. It sounds a little too polished and American, although the band sounds as confident as ever (as though they weren’t already excreting confidence by the bucketload on their first album).

The biggest – and most positive – change from their debut to this album is James Dean Bradfield’s vocals. On Generation Terrorists, he screams a lot of the vocals; here, he’s much more soulful especially on the plaintive introduction to From Despair To Where and on the big single, La Tristesse Durera (Scream To A Sigh).

I’d file Generation Terrorists under rock, but I’d file this under metal, which is maybe why I don’t tend to listen to it as much as the albums on either side of it.

Hit: La Tristesse Durera (Scream To A Sigh)

Hidden Gem: Life Becoming A Landslide

4 thoughts on “Rocks In The Attic #206: Manic Street Preachers – ‘Gold Against The Soul’ (1993)

  1. Matthew Gibson

    This was the first Manics record I got. I liked it enough at the time, but I got bored of it fairly quickly if I remember right. And I agree the albums either side are much better. I should listen again though, reading this just now I. realised I couldn’t even remember how From Despair to Where goes like!

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Rocks In The Attic #500: Manic Street Preachers – ‘The Holy Bible’ (1995) | Vinyl Stylus

Leave a Reply

