Rocks In The Attic #177: Whitney Houston – ‘Whitney’ (1987)

Ever since American Idol started, I’ve always wondered what Randy Jackson has done in his life to award him the opportunity to sit on a panel critiquing the talent of others. Initially I thought he was a lesser-known member of the Jackson clan.

Looking at the liner notes of this album, I now know – his bass playing and synth playing is all over this album! Does his background as a bass player to other, more notable musicians (and I’m not including Whitney Houston in this sentence) means he’s qualified to comment on the hopes and dreams of vacuous teenagers?

Well I guess somebody has to do it, and I guess it might as well be him than anybody else.

Hit: I Wanna Dance With Somebody (Who Loves Me)

Hidden Gem: So Emotional

Leave a Reply

