Rocks In The Attic #174: Various Artists – ‘Ghostbusters (O.S.T.)’ (1984)

This represents the 200th disc I have reviewed for Rocks In The Attic. Not the 200th post (it’s only the 174th, but it’s the 200th actual disc accounting for all the double albums I’ve covered). Yes, I have a pivot table in Excel in keep on track of all this!

I was very young but I have a very clear memory of seeing Ghostbusters when it came out. I don’t actually remember seeing it at the cinema – although I was definitely taken to see it – but I remember being infatuated with it after I had seen it.

I hadn’t heard anything about the film until one day at school when we were playing in the schoolyard. It was winter, we were building a snowman on the hard concrete and one of the other kids pointed to the sorry excuse for a snowman and said “He looks like the Stay Puft marshmallow man!” I didn’t have a clue what he was talking about, but that night I was taken to see the film – I’m guessing at the Roxy cinema in Hollinwood, Manchester. And yes, that’s Hollinwood, not Hollywood. At school, we must have ‘played’ Ghostbusters at break-time for weeks or months after that.

My memory on that snowman incident is very clear – and, weather-wise, seems to tie up with the release date in the UK (7th December 1984). I would have been six and a half at the time, and I think this is one of my earliest memories that I can actually put a date to (thanks, IMDB).

My love for this film has gone through many changes. I initially liked it as a four year old because of the ghosts and special effects. I could never watch that first scene with the ghost in the library because it was far too scary! Growing up, as I saw the film on television, I then found an appreciation for the jokes. Before home video got popular, I remember the film showing on television was such an event to look forward to – I once watched it at a Christmas party or a New Year’s party, dropped off in a bedroom to watch it on a small portable television.

In the last decade or so, I’ve really developed a love for the soundtrack. You don’t tend to notice things like the music in a film when you’re very young – it just washes over you – but I think it sinks into your pores without you noticing, every time you watch it. I bought the soundtrack – I think from Mr. Sifter’s in Burnage, Manchester – on vinyl, and even though I hadn’t listened to the soundtrack before, it was as familiar as Mum’s cooking.

The music is very of-its-time, and there’s a couple of turkeys in there, but overall it’s a fantastic soundtrack. I’ll never be able to consider this collection of songs objectively – the songs are the film in my ears.

Hit: Ghostbusters – Ray Parker Jr.

Hidden Gem: Magic – Mick Smiley

2 thoughts on “Rocks In The Attic #174: Various Artists – ‘Ghostbusters (O.S.T.)’ (1984)

  1. Pingback: Rocks In The Attic #554: Various Artists – ‘Weird Science (O.S.T.)’ (1985) | Vinyl Stylus

  2. Pingback: Rocks In The Attic #572: Various Artists – ‘Fletch (O.S.T.)’ (1985) | Vinyl Stylus

Leave a Reply

