Rocks In The Attic #169: Elton John – ‘Honky Chateau’ (1972)

This is Elton’s fifth album – and I think I bought it because of Mona Lisa And Mad Hatters, from the great Cameron Crowe film Almost Famous. Rocket Man and Honky Cat are both on here too.

I don’t know why I dislike Elton John so much – but I think I dislike what he has become more than anything else. If he’d died young at 27 (which I think would have meant kicking the bucket some time in 1974), he’d have left a nice little body of work. In retrospect though, it’s hard to listen to something classic like Rocket Man or Tiny Dancer without thinking about his schlock ‘80s material like I’m Still Standing.

I Think I’m Going To Kill Myself is another great song on this album – a great honky-tonk suicide letter, twenty years before Kurt Cobain was writing similar lyrics with far less irony.

Hit: Rocket Man (I Think It’s Going To Be A Long, Long Time)

Hidden Gem: Mona Lisas And Mad Hatters

One thought on “Rocks In The Attic #169: Elton John – ‘Honky Chateau’ (1972)

  1. Matthew Gibson

    This is the only Elton John album I’ve ever really liked, mainly because Honky Chateaux is one of my favourite songs of his. I keep meaning to listen again, but usually he’s too close to easy listening for my liking.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

