Rocks In The Attic #91: Gloria Estefan – ‘Greatest Hits’ (1992)

Rocks In The Attic #91: Gloria Estefan - ‘Greatest Hits’ (1992)I remember having a tape of Gloria Estefan songs that somebody gave me when I was in my first year of secondary school. It never seemed to make sense, and I guess that’s because ‘Oldham’ and ‘Latin Beat’ don’t really go together in the same sentence. This album should make a bit more sense now I’m no longer land-locked and living in a coastal environment, but I think it would only make sense if I drove a Ferrari and worked as a detective in Auckland Vice. That sounds like a TV series I hope they never make.

The upbeat stuff on this album is pretty good – especially the early Miami Sound Machine material – but the ballads could have been written and performed by anyone.

Hit: Rhythm Is Gonna Get You

Hidden Gem: Dr. Beat

Leave a Reply

